Useful ADR Links

The New York Convention

United Nations Conference on International Commercial Arbitration Summary Record of the Twenty-Fifth Meeting Held at Headquarters, New York, June 10, 1958.

Delegates to the United Nations Conference on International Commercial Arbitration, United Nations Headquarters, New York, May 1958

United Nations Conference on International Commercial Arbitration , June 10, 1958.

Signing of the New York Convention, June 10, 1958

Representatives of ten States signed the New York Convention on June 10, 1958. In his closing remarks, Carl Schurmann, President of the Conference, stated that “[i]t was still too early to tell whether the instrument prepared by the Conference would serve the ends of trade and justice. That would only be shown by experience. However, it was already apparent that the document represented an improvement on the Geneva Convention of 1927… Nevertheless, the actual situation would not be really improved until a large number of States had ratified the Convention or acceded to it.”

Currently, 156 States have adopted the New York Convention.

ADR Organizations

American Arbitration Association (AAA)
International Centre for Dispute Resolution (ICDR)
International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR)
International Court of Arbitration (ICC)
London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA)
The Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC)
Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC)
Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC)
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
Permanent Court of Arbitration in Hague (PCA)
International Mediation Institute (IMI)

International Conventions

Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, 1958– including list of States adopting the Convention (the “New York Convention”)

Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (Washington, 1965)

Inter-American Convention on International Commercial Arbitration (The Panama Treaty, 1975)

International Model Laws

UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, as adopted in 2006 (1985)
UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (1976)

UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (2010)
UNCITRAL Notes on Organizing Arbitral Proceedings (1976)
UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Conciliation, including States adopting the Law (2002)


The Federal Arbitration Act
Convention On the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards

UNIFORM LAWS (United States)

Uniform Arbitration Act
Uniform Mediation Act


IBA Guidelines on Conflict of Interest in International Arbitration

IBA Rules on Taking Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration


UNCITRAL Notes On Organizing Arbitral Proceedings


College of Commercial Arbitrators– Protocols for Cost-Effective Commercial Arbitration

Techniques for Controlling Time and Costs in Arbitration: Report for the ICC Commission on Arbitration (2007)

CPR Protocol On Disclosure of Documents And Presentation of Witnesses In Commercial Arbitration (2009)

ICDR Guidelines For Arbitrators Concerning Exchanges of InformationNew York state Bar Association –Report on Arbitration Discovery in Domestic Commercial Cases

CODE OF ETHICS (United States)

The Code of Ethics for Arbitrators in Commercial Disputes (ABA/AAA)